Ian Blyth – It's Just a Thought

My thoughts and opinions

The 20 Most Annoying Tech Products

Posted by Ian Blyth on 17 April 2007

There is a good list of IT products that have annoyed people over the years with the carpet bombing AOL CDs getting the no 1 spot.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,130638-page,1/article.html?tk=pr_20MATP

They have taken the top 10 and added 10 more from the list. What I liked was the summary of how to annoy people.

14 Surefire Ways to Annoy Users
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,130638-page,6-c,techindustrytrends/article.html

The ones that I hate.
Foisting other software on me when installing something I want. I had to install Apple Quicktime as my new camera does MOV movies. And it tries to install iTunes at every opportunity even though I do not have an iPod and no desire to have one.
Providing a free version but continually nagging to upgrade to the pay for version. I have uninstalled a few products because of this.
Assuming that this little program is in control of my PC and can take over all my settings, put itself in start up without asking and bury its settings deep in the registry so that I can not find them without a lot of work.

In general the ones that seem to violate this are the media players and IM applications although I have found firewall vendors and AV vendors to be just as bad.

Leave a Reply

 
